Songs (and videos) of the Summer, Our Wildest Week Yet…

A Note from Jack

It’s been a crazy summer at Public Opinion/Track Star HQ but this week has really topped them all. We filmed our 18th, 19th and 20th episodes of Track Star Presents with three incredible artists, shot the first pilot of an entirely new project coming this fall, and spent a day with some high school students working to register, educate and engage voters across NYC. But what I’m particularly excited about is the launch of three distinct projects that we put so much focus and energy into. It’s starting to feel like we’re finding our voice. 

On Monday we released a short documentary about the brother duo behind the band X Ambassadors and the surprising lessons they learned from one another after selling millions of records and touring the world. I found it to be a deeply moving story and loved spending a weekend with the band earlier this summer. We’re proud to call those guys friends. 

On Tuesday we released a Public Opinion video about NYC’s public pools, which have a fascinating history. I remember going to the public pool on 23rd street as a kid and having the best time. It’s a summer tradition for city kids. Our video questions if these pools are at risk…

Finally, on Thursday we dropped the latest episode of Track Star Presents with Lake Street Dive. Ever since we booked them for the show there’s been some major hype. Lake Street Dive is just one of those bands that everybody seems to absolutely adore. We did something a little different with this video, including giving away tickets to their MSG show in September. Watch the video to hear an incredible performance and get to know the band better. You may even end up winning some free tickets.

So that’s a little bit of our crazy week. If you get a chance to watch any of these videos please let me know, I’d love to hear what you think! Last thing, on a personal note, I just launched a NYC marathon fundraiser and will take all the support I can get! Maybe I should put together a running playlist…

A Conversation with Dave Bayley of Glass Animals

Speaking of the summer heat, this week we got a chance to speak with Dave Bayley of Glass Animals, whose song Heat Waves has over 3 BILLION streams on spotify. It’s one of the most streamed songs ever, and Dave is just the nicest guy. What I didn’t know is that this song was originally intended to go out to a different superstar artist.  

Jack: Have you ever written songs for anybody else?

Dave: Yeah. 

Jack: Before, after, all the time? How do you choose which songs will be one of your songs versus a song for someone else?

Dave: There are a couple songs I’ve tried to give to other people…I mean, “Heat Waves” nearly went to Rihanna. 

Jack: Wow. 

Dave: In all seriousness, I met her manager, Jay, who seemed really sweet. We played it for him and he was like, ‘Send it to me now.’ And I sent it to him, along with two other songs. 

Jack: So when you sent it to them, it was a demo?

Dave: Demo, but very, very similar to the song that was released. That song came together fast. 

Jack: That’s interesting, because it’s gonna sound one way with Glass Animals, it’s gonna sound another way if you are playing it on your guitar, and it’s gonna sound another way if Rihanna is singing it. And I imagine that when you make a demo, you don’t want to put too much of your own style on it. 

Dave: I mean, there’s not a crazy amount of stuff going on in that song. There’s the guitar, the bass, and the harmony. Then there’s a vocal line and the beat going on beneath it. It’s pretty simple. The demo was basically that. We just added a few synths in the background to make it a bit bigger in the chorus. 

Jack: When did you realize Rihanna isn’t going to cut it, that it was yours?

Dave: Well, I actually didn’t want to cut it, which is why I was shipping it out. It’s quite a personal, sad song to me. And it becomes a lot more personal when you sing it yourself and put it out. Like, too close to home. The rest of the guys convinced me to put it on the record. I like the song a lot, but I couldn’t face singing it everyday. 

Jack: (laughs) And now?

Dave: I just latch on to the optimistic end of it and I am fine. And I have fun now.

A Kinda Sorta Songs of the Summer Playlist

This is by no means a definitive list, but rather, some songs I’ve been digging this summer, old and new.

  1. Good Together - Lake Street Dive

  2. This is Life - Winnetka Bowling League, Medium Build & Dawes

  3. Bleeding Hearts - Chaparelle

  4. Sexy to Someone - Clairo 

  5. Oh Yeah - Roxy Music 

  6. Every Little Thing I Say I Do - Dayglow

  7. 1+1 - GALE

  8. Good Luck, Babe! - Chappell Roan 

  9. Bobby Jean - Bruce Springsteen

  10. Alesis - Mk.gee 

  11. I Heard It Through The Grapevine - Marvin Gaye

  12. Take a Bite - Beabadoobee

  13. Don’t Let Our Love Start Slippin’ Away - Vince Gill

  14. Look At That Woman - Role Model

Listen on Spotify and Apple Music

Track Star Presents: Lake Street Dive

48 Hours in Ithaca with X Ambassadors

Watch Them on Track Star

Play Along

Which of these songs was not originally offered to Rihanna?

Login or Subscribe to participate in polls.

Who was originally going to record Whitney Houston’s “How Will I Know”?

Login or Subscribe to participate in polls.

Every Track Star Song

Follow our playlist on Spotify or Apple Music to keep up with every song we play on the show.

Reply

or to participate.