How I Got Kamala Harris in My TikTok

A Note from Jack

 If you’re subscribed to this newsletter and this is your first time hearing that we filmed with Vice President Harris the internet must not be working correctly. Last week was for sure the wildest week in Track Star history as we traveled to Chicago because the VICE PRESIDENT OF THE UNITED STATES wanted to come on the show…

I’ve been getting the same question a LOT in the past few days, “How did you decide what songs to play for Kamala?” The process for choosing the songs was basically the same as it is for anyone that comes on the show. I try to get a sense of what types of music someone likes and try to find songs within that realm. I’m never looking to stump someone, but rather hoping they get pretty far along in the game. I want to identify songs that will encourage the guest to tell a story. 

I started putting together the Kamala playlist on Sunday evening, about 24 hours before our scheduled shoot time. I Googled “Kamala Harris + Music” and found snippets about songs and artists she likes but not much. I knew she liked Stevie Wonder and Jazz and went from there. I wanted to try and provide a mix of different genres, but in the end we only had enough time for four songs. There are a LOT of others I’d have liked to play for her if we had a bit more time. Maybe we’ll get to do it again some day… 

If you want to see behind the scenes of how this whole thing came together we made a YouTube video about it here. Let me know if we should make more videos like this. Below is a long list of songs I would have played for the VP if we had more time. 

Listen to My Picks for the Vice President

  1. Stevie Wonder - Boogie On Reggae Woman

  2. Miles Davis - Freddie Freeloader

  3. Too $hort - Blow the Whistle

  4. Roy Ayers - Everybody Loves the Sunshine 

  5. Aretha Franklin - I Say a Little Prayer

  6. Parliament - Give up the Funk 

  7. Bruce Springsteen - Born in the U.S.A.

  8. Prince - When You Were Mine

  9. Destiny’s Child - Independent Women, Pt. 1 

  10. 2Pac - Keep Ya Head Up 

  11. Sister Nancy - Bam Bam 

  12. Ella Fitzgerald & Louis Armstrong - Dream a Little Dream of Me

  13. Smokey Robinson & The Miracles - The Tracks of My Tears

  14. The Pointer Sisters - Jump (For My Love)

  15. A Tribe Called Quest - Electric Relaxation

  16. Otis Redding - (Sittin’ On) The Dock of the Bay

  17. Salt-N-Pepa - Push It

  18. The Chi-Lites - Oh Girl 

  19. The Edwin Hawkins Singers - Oh Happy Day

  20. India.Arie - Video

  21. Lauryn Hill - Everything is Everything

  22. Stevie Wonder - I’m New

  23. Depeche Mode - Just Can’t Get Enough

Listen on Spotify and Apple Music

Watch the Behind-the-Scenes

Watch Them on Track Star

Play Along

What is the name of the official Presidential anthem?

Login or Subscribe to participate in polls.

Which President was derisively nicknamed “The MTV President?”

Login or Subscribe to participate in polls.

Every Track Star Song

Follow our playlist on Spotify or Apple Music to keep up with every song we play on the show.

Reply

or to participate.